2020 ASA Concerto Competition Winners Announced

The Alberta String Association is pleased to announce the winner of the 2020 Concert Competition:

Gordon Giang, cello; performing the first movement of the Sinfonia Concertante, op 125, by Prokofiev.

Prokofiev: Sinfonia Concertante, Op. 125: movement 1 (Gordon Giang, cello)

Congratulations to Gordon and his teacher, Raphael Hoekman! We look forward to hearing Gordon when performs with the Burman Symphony Orchestra in April!

Congratulations to all the entrants, including the placing entries:

2nd place: Soren Lorentzen, viola: Viola Concerto, by William Walton

3rd place: Laura Wakeman, cello: first movement, Cello Concerto, Op. 85, by Edward Elgar

Our thanks to adjudicator Dmitry Myzdrikov of New Brunswick for listening to all of the entries and for his insightful comments to the participants.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: